Home > Uncategorized > Tonight’s dinner: Thai basil coconut curry

Tonight’s dinner: Thai basil coconut curry

Between SF Pride week and unexpected physical malady, it hasn’t been a great week for home cooked food. But tonight, I made a delicious Thai-inspired curry with zucchini, carrots, coriander and basil from our farm. I adapted it from the recipe here:

http://www.ztastylife.com/2009/10/red-lentil-coconut-and-curry-soup.html

In mine, I sauteed coriander seeds for a minute before throwing a chopped medium onion in the pan. I followed that with minced fresh ginger and garlic, and threw in some red curry paste, cayenne pepper, and red chili flakes. Then I added garden carrots and zucchini (in place of the celery the recipe recommends), red lentils, water, coconut milk, tomato paste, a bay leaf, and a cinnamon stick. Once it boiled, I simmered it for 25 minutes, then poured it over jasmine rice and covered it with fresh basil. Yum!

Here is the giant zucchini (and teeny carrots!) and basil before I chopped them up:

Image

 

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment