Home > Uncategorized > It’s been a long time…

It’s been a long time…

With first spring blooming in the Bay Area, I feel my vitality returning.

Winter is hard on me, even the mild version we experience here. As a native New Yorker, I thought that the winter months would be easy here, but the sun is still gone for more hours of the day, the sky is overcast, and our buildings, unlike NY’s, are not insulated to handle the cold. I’ve spent a lot of time huddled in front of a small space heater.

Now that the mid-afternoons have gotten sunny and warm, I find a patch of sun each day and sit out in it, jacket off, and try to soak in as much sun on my pale bare arms as possible. It revitalizes me. For the past few weeks, I’ve been taking midday bike rides on my days off. These rides (and a nice income tax refund check) led to me finally purchasing the touring bike I’ve been dreaming of. I took it for a 10 mile ride down the Oakland waterfront yesterday. 

I tilled the earth in our garden a few weeks ago, and new greens have been planted. I’ve been making delicious smoothies out of the hearty chard patch that survived the winter. Here’s the recipe:

3 to 4 chard leaves (depending on size)

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 banana (eat the other half)

1/2 cup coconut or almond milk

1 tbsp chia seeds

Blend and enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

